Novellete

Novellete: Breaking Up 4

Scene 4: The Drive

The grapple between mind and heart keeps the man in suspense many a times. You never know who is going to win. That night, they were again back into the position where they always have been.

“Hey, Hop in!” I said to Geet standing on the street with an office bag and some shopping bags.

“Kitna time laga diya tumne. Moreover, you used to have Honda Activa. Wow, now you owe Honda Brio.” She said while getting in. “You drunk by the way.” She continued.

“Yeah, just coming from my party, I threw for being promoted to Manager Position, as I, along with my team, had worked hard to become national second highest sales team.” I replied to keep the conversation going.

“You did not tell me Rishh. Congratulation Yaar!” she said sweetly. She looked beautiful as always. Hair kept free, no glasses, and even no hint of makeup. She has the natural pink lips with dimples to make everyone fall for her. That was the first time I saw her after 2 months.

“Thank you very much” I replied while keeping the pace on tracks. “So, where are you heading from? You seemed to have shopped today. Didn’t you?” I asked further.

“Oh yes, I went to Haus Khas with a friend for shopping directly from the office. Anyways, you tell me the secret. New Car, Promotion. What else is on the “to-do list”?

“Nothing much. For my performance, I am promoted to Market Place as Manager of Trade Fair Team. I will be travelling to all over India to promote the company, and may be at times to other countries as well.”

“Wow Rishh. You are a manager now.” She shouted. “That calls for a party. So, where will you take me for dinner now?” she joked ahead.

“Where ever you like to go? I have a better idea. I got some VAT69 at back. We’ll grab two glasses and some chakhna.” I advised. Although she likes booze, but that night she did not want to. However, she looked up the dashboard to light up. Fortunately, she had my heart on her side and I got four regular mild cigarettes for her.

In between, heart and mind were on fight. Heart was in some way winning. However, mind wanted to spoil the cheerful heart’s day and spill out many questions to Geet.

“Come on; at least ask her why she called you.” That was the one question, which was running a marathon in my mind.

“She was looking for help. And Rachit is the only resort.” Heart replied with a laugh.

On the move, there was some room for songs to complete. For some, we hummed together. That was a great inexplicable night. Then, I had to intervene to ask her a question.

“Hey Geet, can I ask you something?” I looked for positive nod. She accepted.

“How come you expected me to come up to your help?” I sounded serious.

Rishh, I know you. You know, dear, whatever happened between us, we still be friends. I find it thoughtful to tell you that I like to be with you.” She replied with a smile. To her this reply, I had no secret to get out of the closet.

“So, here you are. Hope you are on time.” I cut the talk and tapped the break.

“Thank you so much. You are a real friend indeed. I am sorry to bother you.” She said sweetly.

“I was thinking Geet, to reconsider your proposal.” She stood startled. “How about we jog from tomorrow morning? What do you say?” I laughed and she joined me. She asked me once to work out with her, when we were in the relationship.

Well, she replied positively. We agreed to meet at 6 o’clock in the morning. After dropping her, post inning analysis kept me busy for the night. Heart could not feel better than before, and mind had nothing, but sulk for a while. On the agreement, heart and mind went to sleep to wake up early in the morning.

Waking up early in late November of Delhi gives you chills. However, the warmth of heart keeps the body warm as well. For next three early mornings, I woke up at 5:30 AM. Then, I became “alarm” for her and woke her up by 6 AM.

“You need to be on time from next time. I was waiting here for last 10 minutes.” I said while she was joining me to the park.

“I am sorry Rishh. But you know it’s still dark. It’s not easy to wake up so early.” She replied.

“Ok, I know. But still you should have told me.”

“I will try next time.” She replied while keeping the pace with me.

We went to a green near the market for jogging. We talked, we laughed. She told a little about her office, I shared a little about my new office and new profile.

“So, tomorrow at the same time?” she asked. “I’ll be on time.”

“No, I forgot to tell. I am leaving for Ahmedabad tomorrow dawn for 4 days.” I replied

She saddened at the news. “That means no jogging for next 4 days.” She said and I nodded in positive.

Those days were sudden change in the life. Heart and Mind were at discord. Heart wanted to have her back, but mind did not agree to show her that desperation. You love your girl because she wants you to. You will not be able to hate her even when you want to, until she allows it.

Note: Breaking up is a Short Story I wrote once. I hope you like it. Please read the previous scenes to stay in flow with the story.

Previously Scene 3: Office

Standard

2 thoughts on “Novellete: Breaking Up 4

  1. Pingback: Novellete: Breaking Up 5 | Pen and Paper

  2. Pingback: Novellete: Breaking Up 6 | Pen and Paper

Leave a Reply

