Novellete

Novellete: Breaking Up 3

Scene 3: Office

“Maine raat ki tijori se neend chura li hai,
Tumhari yaad ke khatir girvi rakhi thi kabhi.”
Gulfam

Days passed, nights arouse; weeks harden. For a week, I could not get good numbers on sales from the boys. That was the hardest week for my team to survive. One evening, my boss, Mr. Akshay Khattar, talked to me. He was a man with so much experience, worked at different levels and companies until he joined Indiamart.com as North Zone Manager.

“I don’t know the reason of your under performance but let me remind you, you are an Assistant Manager.” He said to me. “This team is dependent on you. You cannot fail these boys because of your personal problems.” He continued while sipping his peg at the party of the national top sales team.

That night, his words changed my attitude towards work. I realised whatever happening to me personally, should not affect my work. From next morning, I came back into the game of sales.

Meanwhile, I forgot about my broken relationship. Even then, she was always on my mind. At times, we chatted as well.

“Hi Geet.. How are you? How was your day?” I pinged. It took her hours to reply.

“Oh, hi Rishh… Am good. And the day was not good.

Saala, Ashok, my manager, Chilla raha tha. What a jerk!” She replied, and so we continued a while. However, we never talked much as we used to.

A month before Diwali, the company announced a competition for sales team, Diwali Dhamaka. The Mail said, “Team with maximum sales for the month would be sent on Bangkok Trip”. Keeping in mind weekly sales target and competition intensity, I motivated my team to get work done by hook or crook, and I would help them for everything to get the sales.

“So Guptaji, how is your team doing?” Satya Prakash asked. He was Assistant Manager of other team and one of the strongest competitors for the prize.

Sirji, my team is way behind your team. I heard that you are getting 4 sales in a day.” I replied while making a laugh. “Why don’t you transfer 2 leads to my team?” I asked genuinely.

“I would have Rachit. But you know, Sales mein sab jayez hai, sivaye bhaichare ke.” He joked further.

Life was normal again. The work was better than before and I was getting competitive sales for the Diwali Dhamaka. Then the usual Friday evenings with friends at Pocket Bar, Sundays with family. Movie’s got more action, Food got better taste, and life got a blend of positive thoughts, until a week after Diwali.

That Monday Morning meeting had lots of suspense. It would be Diwali for some and ‘diwala’ for others.

“So guys, you all enjoyed your Diwali?” Mr. Khatter asked. Everyone replied positively and enthusiastically.

“Satya Prakash’s team performed phenomenally and got the highest sales so they are going to Bangkok.” Mr Khattar announced. Everyone applauded.

“But there is a surprise. We have another winner.” This was not at all expected.

“Team with second highest sales, i.e. Rachit Gupta’s team will also fly to Bangkok.” He announced further. I was elated at this. Everyone congratulated us. However, my boss had something else as well. “Rachit, my boy, there is another surprise for you. And I hope you like it.” He said.

“You are promoted to Market Place as Trade Fairs Team Manager.” He told me while making steps towards me. I stood up from my seat at this unexpected news. I was so happy. When appreciation is made with promotions, it is an achievement. I was one of the youngest people to get such promotion. I wanted to share it with Geet. However, something stopped me.

Life is such a mystery in itself. Two unexpected surprises at the office made my day. I went to Connaught Place with friends to enjoy the day. We were having some drink and some awesome food, and then my phone beeped. It was Geet. She called me. Therefore, without any delay I picked the call.

“Hello Rishh” she said.

“Hi Geet, How are you?” I replied enthusiastically. “How come you called me?” I asked further.

“I am good. What are you doing?” she asked. “I need your help. Please help me!” she urged sweetly.

“Nothing much, I am with friends at Connaught Place.” I replied to her first question. “Yeah, tell me, how can I help you?” I asked.

“Could you please pick me and give a lift to home? I am here only at Route No. 04. My friend had to leave me here for urgent office work.” She said hurriedly. “Can you Rishh… Please pick me?” I was stuck.

For no particular reason, I took leave from friends. With this move, heart and mind started another argument. Heart was happy for getting back to torn memories. However, Mind was taking the side of ‘being used by a girl’ fact. Well, they both had strong sides. Nevertheless, why she called me was the real question.

Note: Breaking up is a Short Story I wrote once. I hope you like it. Please read previous two scenes to stay in flow with the story.

Scene 1: Friday Night

Scene 2: Hangover

Standard

One thought on “Novellete: Breaking Up 3

  1. Pingback: Novellete: Breaking Up 4 | Pen and Paper

Leave a Reply

